The British Commonwealth of Nations

Return to homepage of Mad about coins

Mad about coins

 < HomepageNovelties | Site Map | My collection | Links | Contact | Voir cette page en français >


Many countries but one empire

An empire on whish the sun never sets


The shield and the shadow

It is under the pretext* to protect the weak and to make reign the order and civility that the British empire will impose its flag and its language on a quarter of the surface of the planet, and this during several centuries, roughly from the reign of George II to the one of George VI. The benefits of this union will be so important that the current English coins will remain out of silver and bronze until after the second World War : it is only in 1947 that it will be considered more economic to mint out of copper-nickel. For comparison, soon after the Great War, that of 14-18, France gave up its silver francs and turned to the coins of bronze-aluminium, zinc, nickel and other metals of little value.

Still today, within the framework of the Commonwealth, many old British colonies, in particular Canada and Australia, preserve and maintain strong economic and political bonds with Great Britain and their coins and banknotes still have for obverse the profile of Elizabeth II, Queen of England.


Definition of the Commonwealth : Association d'anciennes possessions de l'Empire britannique (Mozambique excepté) devenues des États indépendants et ayant établi entre elles une certaine solidarité, plus morale que juridique. Ces États sont unis par une commune et libre allégeance à la Couronne britannique ou, à défaut, par la reconnaissance du souverain de Grande-Bretagne comme chef symbolique. Le Commonwealth s'est substitué au British Commonwealth of Nations (1931 - 1946). Outre the United Kingdom, les membres du Commonwealth sont : Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brunei, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji (suspended in 2006), Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan (suspendu à deux reprises), Papoua New Guinea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe (suspended in 2002).

Pour en savoir plus, consulter l'encyclopédie libre Wikipédia en cliquant sur ce lien :


*Pretext all the other colonialists nations also used, a pretext which never goes out of fashion as the still current policy of the USA shows it.

< Homepage | Site Map | Archives | LinksNovelties | Contact |  

Page translated on May, 1st, 2006 | Last update of this page : Wednesday, September 12th, 2012

Copyright © Fou de monnaies, 2005-2012